Board of Trustees
Share |






 Access to SCMR Board web portal (Board-only)



Andrew Powell, MD, FSCMR
Children’s Hospital Boston
Boston, MA USA

Dr. Andrew Powell is a Senior Associate in Cardiology at Boston Children’s Hospital, and Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. He graduated from Harvard Medical School followed by a residency in pediatrics and fellowship in pediatric cardiology, both at Boston Children’s Hospital. Afterward, he joined the staff there in the Department of Cardiology where he is currently the Chief of the Cardiac Imaging Division. His research has focused on the development of quantitative CMR methods to guide therapy and predict outcomes of congenital and pediatric heart disease. For many years Dr. Powell has supported SCMR and its mission to improve cardiovascular health by advancing the field of CMR through education, advocacy, networking, research, and clinical excellence. He is dedicated to fostering inclusion in SCMR and advocating for fair reimbursement practices that allow all patients to have access to CMR.


James Carr, MD, FSCMR 
Northwestern University
Chicago, IL USA

Secretary Treasurer

Subha Raman, MD, FSCMR
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio USA

Dr. Subha Raman is a cardiologist and Professor at The Ohio State University in Internal Medicine, Biomedical Informatics, and Radiology. She completed her undergraduate, graduate and professional training in electrical engineering, medicine and cardiology, with subspecialty training at Wake Forest University in magnetic resonance. She has directed and led the development of advanced cardiovascular imaging services and a subspecialty fellowship program to translate innovation to the next generation of physicians. In addition to her activities as a clinician and educator, she maintains an active research program focused on earlier, more accurate diagnosis that guides effective treatment of heart and vascular disease.

Vice Secretary Treasurer

Sven Plein, MD
University of Leeds
Leeds, UK

Sven Plein, MD, PhD, is a British Heart Foundation Professor of Cardiovascular Imaging at the University of Leeds, UK, where he leads the Department of Biomedical Imaging Science. Together with his multidisciplinary research group, he has published over 250 original papers, position papers and review articles in CMR with a focus on ischaemic heart disease and heart failure. Sven also practices as a Consultant Cardiologist at Leeds Teaching Hospitals and leads a busy clinical CMR service.

Sven has been active in the field of CMR and has been an SCMR member for almost 20 years. He was a member of the board of Trustees of the SCMR from 2010 – 2013 and programme chair of the 2011 joint SCMR/EuroCMR scientific sessions in Nice. Later he served as Chairman of the Working Group on CMR of the European Society of Cardiology and Vice-president of the European Association of Cardiovascular Imaging.

A main focus of Sven’s societal work has been education and training. He has initiated and led the European CMR certification process and the CMR exam, created the CMR pocket guides and a free CMR mobile App, he is editor of several CMR textbooks, most recently the new EACVI Textbook on CMR and has served as a member of the editorial board of JCMR and is Senior Associate Editor of European Heart Journal – Cardiovascular Imaging.

Sven will use his experience in societal leadership and expertise in CMR to strengthen links between CMR experts from all geographical locations, specialties and backgrounds and to further enhance the standing of SCMR in the global imaging market place. 


Past President

Matthias Stuber, PhD, FSCMR  
Lausanne University
Lausanne, Switzerland

Matthias Stuber, PhD, is the Director of the CIBM-CHUV-MR module and is a Full Professor at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland, Visiting Professor at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA , and an Invited Chair at Liryc, Bordeaux, France . He studied electrical engineering at the ETH in Zurich where he also obtained his PhD on cardiac MRI in 1997. From 1997-2002 he worked at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, MA, United States, both as a clinical scientist for Philips Medical Systems and a Faculty at Harvard Medical School. From 2002-2009, he directed a research team as an NIH-funded principal investigator at Johns Hopkins University Medical School where he advanced to Full Professor and was awarded tenure.
In summer 2009, he returned to his native Switzerland. He has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed original articles. Prof. Stuber has received many awards for his research including a “Fellow Award” of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance (ISMRM ) at the 2010 annual meeting of the society in Stockholm, Sweden. He served as an elected board member of the ISMRM from 2013-2016. He is past President of the Society for Magnetic Resonance Angiograpy (SMRA, formerly MRA Club ) that held its annual meeting in 2014 in Rome, Italy. He is also a Fellow and the Immediate Past President of the Society for Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance (SCMR ).


Board Members:



Erica Dall'Armellina

University of Leeds

Leeds, UK


Stephen Darty, FSCMR

Duke University Medical Center

Kernersville, NC USA



Marco Francone

Sapienza University of Rome

Rome, Italy


 Lars Grosse-Wortmann

The Hospital for Sick Children

Toronto, Ontario CA


Allison Hays, MD

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD USA


Ron Jacob, MD, FSCMR

Lancaster General Hospital

Lancaster, PA USA



Warren J. Manning, MD, FSCMR
Journal of CMR, Editor

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Boston, MA USA




Michael Markl, PhD, FSCMR

Northwestern University

Chicago, Illinois USA


Karen Ordovas, MD, MAS, FSCMR

University of California San Francisco School of Medicine

San Francisco, CA USA



Michael Salerno, MD, PhD, FSCMR

University of Virginia Health System

Charlottesville, Virginia USA


Lilia M. Sierra-Galan, MD, FSCMR

American British Cowdray Medical Center

Mexico City, Mexico 




Alistair Young, PhD, FSCMR

University of Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand



Board 2018-2019

Board 2017-2018

Board 2016-2017

Board 2015-2016

Board 2014-2015 

Board 2013-2014

Board 2012-2013

Board 2011-2012

Board 2010-2011

Board 2009-2010

Board 2008-2009

Mailing Address
19 Mantua Rd
Mt. Royal, NJ 08061
Contact Us
Connect With Us